Disney Junior’s ‘The Chicken Squad,’ Inspired by the Popular Children’s Book Series

Disney Junior’s ‘The Chicken Squad,’ Inspired by the Popular Children’s Book Series, Premieres Friday, May 14, on Disney Junior and Disneynow
April 5, 2021



— Tony Hale, Jane Lynch, Melissa Rauch, Sean Giambrone

and Malcolm-Jamal Warner Among Guest Voice Cast —

Disney Junior’s egg-citing new animated comedy-adventure series “The Chicken Squad” premieres FRIDAY, MAY 14 (7:30 P.M. EDT/PDT), with two back-to-back episodes on Disney Junior and DisneyNOW. Inspired by Doreen Cronin’s popular children’s books, the series follows a trio of young chicken siblings—Coop, Sweetie and Little Boo—and their retired search and rescue dog mentor, Captain Tully. Together, they team up on problem-solving adventures in their backyard to help their animal friends, while modeling what it means to be good community helpers and finding the joy in assisting others. A digital soundtrack, “Disney Junior Music: The Chicken Squad,” featuring the theme song and music from the series is also set for release Friday, May 14, on Walt Disney Records.

♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪ Bawk-Bagawk-Bagawwwwk ♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪

Joining the previously announced lead voice cast—Yvette Nicole Brown (Captain Tully), Ramone Hamilton (Coop), Gabriella Graves (Sweetie) and Maxwell Simkins (Little Boo)—the recurring guest voice cast includes Tony Hale (Disney+’s upcoming “The Mysterious Benedict Society”) as Frazz, a nervous squirrel; Jane Lynch (“Glee”) as Dr. Dirt, a forensic scientist snail; Melissa Rauch (“The Big Bang Theory”) as Dinah, the chicks’ mother; Sean Giambrone (“The Goldbergs”) as Riley, a gruff pack rat; Malcolm-Jamal Warner (“The Resident”) as Lt. Scruffy, a retired firehouse dog; and Melissa Villaseñor (“Saturday Night Live”) and Zack Pearlman (“Dragons: Race to the Edge”) as Wheeze and Snick, mischievous raccoon siblings. The guest voice cast for season one includes Rachel Bloom (“Crazy Ex-Girlfriend”) and Chrissie Fit (“Pitch Perfect” franchise) as Rebeecca, a nervous honeybee, and Quilla, a friendly porcupine, respectively.

Whether rescuing a stranded puppy from a creek, helping a bird track down its missing food, or solving the mystery of how their mom’s prized flowers got trampled, the Chicken Squad is always ready to lend a helping wing. Each episode, comprised of two 11-minute stories, features the recurring “Chicken Charge” anthem that the chickens sing upon determination of a new mission and at least one new original song that showcases a variety of musical styles ranging from pop and R&B to country, hip-hop and electronic.

“The Chicken Squad” was developed and is executive produced by Emmy® Award winner Tom Rogers (“Elena of Avalor”). Humanitas Prize and Emmy Award winner Rachel Ruderman (“Sofia the First”) is co-producer and story editor; Tony Trujillo (“FarmVille 2”) is art director; and Emmy Award-nominated Elliot M. Bour (“Elena of Avalor”) and Scott Bern (“Puppy Dog Pals”) are supervising directors.

GRAMMY® Award winner Alex Geringas (“Voltron: Legendary Defender”) and Emmy Award-nominated Mike Himelstein (“Mickey Mouse Clubhouse”) are the series’ songwriters, and Emmy Award winner Gregory James Jenkins (“T.O.T.S.”) is composer. “The Chicken Squad” theme song is performed by multitalented actress, singer and recording artist Renée Sandstrom (“Kids Incorporated”/”Wild Orchid”), along with Geringas.

The series is produced by Wild Canary in association with Disney Junior.

*COPYRIGHT ©2021 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All photography is copyrighted material and is for editorial use only. Images are not to be archived, altered, duplicated, resold, retransmitted or used for any other purposes without written permission of Disney Channels Worldwide. Images are distributed to the press in order to publicize current programming. Any other usage must be licensed. Photos posted for Web use must be at the low resolution of 72dpi, no larger than 2×3 in size.

The Chicken Squad: Season 1 Fact Sheet

Title: “The Chicken Squad”

Network: Disney Junior

Premiere Date: May 14, 2021

Synopsis: Disney Junior’s “The Chicken Squad” is an animated comedy series that follows Coop, Sweetie and Little Boo—a trio of young chicken siblings—and Captain Tully, a retired search and rescue dog, who team up on problem-solving adventures in their backyard to help their animal friends. Each episode features two 11-minute stories that follow the young chicks and their mentor as they model what it means to be good community helpers, finding the joy in assisting friends and neighbors and learning how to solve problems. The series is inspired by Doreen Cronin’s popular book series.

Voice Cast: Yvette Nicole Brown as Captain Tully

Ramone Hamilton as Coop

Gabriella Graves as Sweetie

Maxwell Simkins as Little Boo

Recurring Guest Tony Hale as Frazz

Voice Cast: Jane Lynch as Dr. Dirt

Melissa Rauch as Dinah

Sean Giambrone as Riley

Malcolm-Jamal Warner as Scruffy

Melissa Villaseñor as Wheeze

Zack Pearlman as Snick

Guest Voice Cast: Rachel Bloom as Rebeecca

Chrissie Fit as Quilla

Developed and

Executive Produced By: Tom Rogers

Co-Producer and

Story Editor: Rachel Ruderman

Art Director: Tony Trujillo

Supervising Directors: Elliot M. Bour and Scott Bern

Songwriters: Alex Geringas and Mike Himelstein

Composer: Gregory James Jenkins

Consultant: Doreen Cronin

Songs: “The Chicken Squad” Theme Song

Lyrics by Tom Rogers

Music by Alex Geringas and Mike Himelstein

Performed by Renée Sandstrom and Alex Geringas

“Chicken Charge”

Lyrics by Tom Rogers

Music by Alex Geringas and Mike Himelstein

Performed by Ramone Hamilton, Gabriella Graves and Maxwell Simkins

Signature Phrases: “BAGAWK!!!!”

“Sounds like a case for—bawk-BAGAWK!—THE CHICKEN SQUAD!”

“Chicken Squad, ready to help!”

Parental Guideline: TV-Y

Production Company: Wild Canary in association with Disney Junior

Follow Us!

Leave a Reply